Posted in Genealogy, Jewish Gen

A 1930s Nurse and other Newspaper Pearlman Finds

I’m currently searching for the vitals of J’s great grandfather and immigrant ancestor, Meyer Pearlman (b abt 1879).  I came to a roadblock with the information I have for him, so decided to take a step back and go downwards in the family tree and research and explore the lives of all 5 of his children for any clues.  After establishing what I could with census and vital records, I looked for them all in the archives of their hometown paper, Wilkes-Barre Evening News, through Newspaper.com.  I found two finds for him – as well as some amazing engagement and wedding announcement pictures of J’s grandmother!  The Meyer Pearlman finds were:

  • while all early records showed Meyer as Meyer – the newspaper spelled in Myer – something to go back and search
  • Our Meyer moved to New York after 1940 – which confirms a place of burial and death theory I have had.  Previously, I had found information on a Meyer Pearlman, who matched all of my information, buried in Long Island but I never felt comfortable confirming that was our Meyer as I had no information on why he would be buried there (his parents died in Russia and we thought he lived in Wilkes-Barre his entire adult life).  His grandson’s birth announcement – says Meyer was living in Long Island in the 1940s! That places him in New York.  I am also assuming he had more relatives there (I’m not finished researching his relatives but I do know he had more siblings who also came to the US through NY).

It was a productive and fun research session!  Some really good ‘ah ha’ moments with some precious newspaper clippings to save to our family tree.  One of the gems I found is the one above of Meyer’s daughter Florence – she went to nursing school in the 1930s!  Just think, if Meyer would not have made the long and difficult journey over to the US through Ellis Island, his daughter most likely would not of had an opportunity close to this in Russia.

10 thoughts on “A 1930s Nurse and other Newspaper Pearlman Finds

  1. Spellings of names were frequently changed. I love the cursive handwriting and am currently trying to translate a birth certificate in German. Much research as to the cursive handwriting taught in Berlin schools in the late 1880s and at the turn of the century. Fascinating and painstaking work. Good luck! 🙂

    Like

        1. that would be fun! I have also been thinking about some of our relatives came over speaking Yiddish as children and had to assimilate in school (I’m assuming Yiddish was never taught). I would look up what you have suggested for sure – on my list! thanks so much for the fun tips!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Good finds! I had a similar one with a great-uncle’s wife. They married after they both retired from the Air Force. We knew little about her life before Uncle Miles other than she entered the Army Air Force as a nurse in WWII. I too found some info on her in old Illinois papers after getting some info from the Air Force. It is so exciting to find family in any old documents. I remember the first census I found my Mom in, I nearly started to cry. She was two. Keep up the great work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

